Amish Pot Holders from THE WOUNDED HEART

Editor Christina Boys Gets Crafty

Christina's finished potholders

Christina's finished potholders

One of the things I love about being an editor is the variety. I never know what skill or information will suddenly be called upon in my work. Growing up, my mother always excelled at all things creative, and could sew just about anything. My sewing skills didn’t get beyond reattaching a button until one weekend I asked her to teach me how to make a quilt, which she graciously did. I never thought I’d ever need to know the basics of quilting to edit a novel, until I started working with Adina Senft on her Amish Quilt Novels trilogy. Each book in the series focuses on one of three Amish women who are close friends. Every week throughout the series, the women get together to work on a quilt. As the author and I brainstormed over lunch, we decided to include instructions so readers could make the quilt along with the characters. This meant a lot more work for Adina than for me (far more than I realized, which you can read about on her blog). However, as I edited the first novel in the series, THE WOUNDED HEART, I was very grateful to my mother, without whom I wouldn’t have known my backing from my batting, or what a fat quarter was.

I’ll admit my quilting skills are still fairly basic, and most of my quilts are basic patterns with stitch-in-the-ditch quilting. But I decided to tackle the block pattern in THE WOUNDED HEART by making some pot holders. When I went to Jo Ann Fabrics I had all sorts of ideas of color combinations and themes (Blue and yellow florals to match my kitchen! Contemporary black and white “manly” pot holders!) Picking out the fabrics is half the fun! But then I thought I’d try to make them as authentically Amish as I could. Using Adina’s guidelines, I picked out solids in traditional Amish colors, then cut a bunch of triangles and squares at once so I could mix and match. In the photo you can see the result.

Adina and I would love to see how others interpret the pattern with their own fabric selection, and if you want to share your own photos you can post them in the comments below or on Twitter (tag @FaithWords!). We’ll compile all of them into another post!

I think the way the center points of the triangles meet makes them look a bit like a butterfly—wouldn’t that be a cute theme for a crib quilt? Maybe that will be my next project…

Leave a Reply

